Not Everything That Is Learned Is Contained In Books

It is truly said that "Not everything that is learned is contained in books". Books are no doubt an abundant supply of knowledge and information. But according to me, you cannot learn everything with the help fo books you need practical experiences in order to better understand what you have learnt in the books.

First, one cannot learn just by reading books until he/she practically experiences it. For example, a doctor knows all the concepts by studying in the books but until he performs actual treatment on the patient the knowledge gained from the books is of a little use. In case of doctors there are many cases in which experiences speaks better than book knowledge like if a patient is suffering from a disease and the doctor had a patient with similar disease in the past the doctor can treat the patient well as the doctor has treated a patient with similar illness before.

The knowledge which is gained through experience helps in solving problems at a faster rate. For instance, consider a junior software engineer is stuck at a problem and do not know about the solution to that problem in this case instead learning from the books and find the solution it is possible that one of his/her senior had similar problems in the past and knows solutions to the problem. This would inturn require less time to solve the problems.

Hence to sum up I feel that the knowledge which is gained through the books is very essential but is of little use if we do not apply that knowledge to solve actual problems and hence I feel that there are many things that we could learn by experiences and not just by books.