It has been said Not everything that is learned is contained in books Compare and contrast knowledge gained from experience with knowledge gained from books In your opinion which source is more important Why

Books and experience are the two primary sources of knowledge, however, both of them have certain advantages as well as disadvantages. Personally, I believe that what is learned from experience is more important. I feel this way for two main reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, undoubtedly books can be regarded as a reliable source of information about various subjects; nevertheless, they only provide theoretical knowledge rather than practical, and, unfortunately, this kind of knowledge cannot be directly applied in our daily lives. In contrast, in everyday life the key to success is possessing practical knowledge. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. A few years ago, when I had just graduated, I started searching for a job. In spite of the fact that I got my degree in one of the best universities in my country, it proved rather hard for me to land a job. In other words, most companies required having some previous relevant experience, no matter what kind of education you had received. Also, shortly after I started working, I noticed that most of the knowledge I had acquired during my student life was completely irrelevant to the tasks I had to perform in my workplace. My job there was about solving problems, not just reading about them, and, apparently no book could help me to deal with the situations which I encountered. As a result, I had to seek advice from experienced employees.

Secondly, it is needless to say that we do not forget easily what we learn from experience. The content of different books might be helpful, but we tend to forget what we read shortly after we close these textbooks. On the other hand, the knowledge obtained from personal experience has proved to be something which remains embedded in our minds. For instance, no matter how many articles I had read about how morally wrong it is to use obscene words in different articles I usually forgot almost everything I had learned in a couple of days. However, when I accidentally cursed before my mother, I got a lesson that I will remember forever. When she heard me using this kind of words, she scolded me so much that I promised to myself that I would never use them in my life ever again. As a result, I still remember her accurate words and I adhere to what she said to me.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that knowledge which is acquired from experience is more significant compared to the one obtained by reading books. This is because not only are we provided with practical knowledge that will benefit us in our daily lives, but also the things that we learn in this way linger in our minds.