A teacher’s ability to relate well with students is more important than

excellent knowledge of the subject being taught.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Teachers have always played a double role in kids’ school life, as not only do they provide them with fundamental knowledge on certain subjects but they also influence how they develop. Personally, I believe that teachers should aim to build friendly relationships with their students rather than solely teach them everything that is written in a textbook. I feel this way for two main reasons that I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, when teachers succeed in gaining the affinity of their students the learning process can be both improved and facilitated. In other words, when teachers have a connection with their students and since all pedagogical strategies do not work for every classroom and all students, it makes it easier for them to spot their learning weaknesses and help each one of them individually. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. Around ten years ago, when I was in the 9th grade, I had a math teacher that I will remember forever. Not only was she taking pleasure in performing her duties as a teacher but she was genuinely interested in getting to know us as well. As a result, she adjusted her ways of teaching to our needs and finally she also managed to increase our eagerness to learn and seek further information about topics under discussion on our own. Therefore, we ended up understanding fully all the lessons without them being dull.

Secondly, parents do not send their children to school so that they can only grasp academic concepts but to prepare them for the life they are going to encounter after graduating. To be more specific, when teachers do not just lecture on their acquired knowledge but turn the traditional passive lessons into interactive ones and take various approaches to teaching, they help them to develop valuable skills that will benefit them later in their adulthood as well as to gain complete comprehension of the curriculum . Also, the content that is being covered proves to be more meaningful even if less specific information is provided. For instance, when I was in high school I had a professor that used to dedicate one hour a week to discussions about everyday topics or problems. In this way, he taught us implicitly how to respect each other and how we should work in a group. At the same time, though, we had the opportunity to learn life lessons as he usually gave us examples from his own life that illustrated clearly what he meant.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that the teachers’ main goal should be to bond with their students and not only try to transmit to them excessively detailed information on a subject. This is because not only will the students retain more knowledge this way but they will also acquire social skills.