‘’It has been said, "Not everything that is learned is contained in books." Compare and contrast knowledge gained from experience with knowledge gained from books. In your opinion, which source is more important? Why?"

Books have a rich source of knowledge that not only technically teach peoples lessons, but also helps to open people’s eyes to new horizons. Yet, real life is the toughest lesson because we typically learn and grow more accurately from our own experiences. In my opinion, the knowledge gained from our own real-life experience, it can never be taught from books.

The knowledge that is found in books is important because most of them contain facts, a matter of expertise, and countless pieces of knowledge that a human being needs to evolve as a true human. Books present a lot of research that old generations of scientists found, for example, the old generation used to believe that the earth was flat. Books show specific methods and explanations for why our ancestors believed in these theories. If these theories had not been written down, we would never have known that our ancestors thought that earth was flat. Moreover, recently scientists did not believe that the earth was flat and they replicated older generations’ methods. As a result, they found out that the earth is round and not flat as the older generation thought. Similarly, the knowledge gained from life experience helps people to bring out their true selves. Parents, family, and friends might guide young adults to avoid some pain and mistakes in their early life.

However, young adults ignored this advice, and not until they faced the issue they realized if they had listened, they could have avoided the challenge. Thus, this experience helps young adults to shape their character, personality, and persistence.

On the other hand, the knowledge found in books can also provide further issues such as people becoming unsure of what to believe. Some people have read so many books that all their knowledge is theoretical and knowledge becomes pointless if it cannot be put into practice. Lessons learned from life experience can never be learned from reading. Some people can read about their country that they would like to visit and learn about their food, culture, approach and so on. However, the feeling of visiting such a country, tasting their special dish, speaking with local people, and visiting their museums to learn about their culture is unrelated to reading. Therefore, practical experience helps us to have a more deep understanding, while theories learned from books will be forgotten easily.