When people move to another country, some of them decide to follow the customs of the new country. Others prefer to keep their own customs. Which one do you prefer? Support your answer with specific details.

When people move to another country, they should adopt and follow the customs of the new country for many reasons. Every country is different, and I prefer to learn about the culture of the new country because they have unique traits, personalities, behaviors, attitudes, culture and that is what makes them interesting.

First, learning new things every day is always good. Not only that, but also every time you learn something new, your brain creates new connections, and makes existing neural pathways stronger. For instance, when I moved to the USA a few years ago, I did not realize at first the importance of learning the spoken language. When I started learning the language, I was able to make decisions more easily in English than in my native language, and it also gave me confidence and self-esteem. Additionally, I started to understand more profoundly the culture, behaviors, personalities, and traditions in the USA.

Secondly, people tend to think that somehow they are going to start losing their old traditions and identity, yet the new country might have some customs that they find interesting. For instance, In the United States, cities often open an ice skating rink every year for the winter. At first, I refused to try skating because I had never done it before, but once I tried it I liked it, even though I fell a few times. Afterwards, I would get so excited every winter because I was able to skate again. Moreover, I enjoyed going to the Christmas markets, which we do not have in my country. I truly enjoy immersing myself in other cultures and learning from them.

Generally speaking, people should be open-minded when they start to follow the new traditions of the country in which they are living. To gain the full experience of a new country, it is necessary to immerse yourself in the culture. With an open mind and an optimistic attitude, they can not only adjust easier to a new country, but also enrich their life experience.