Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

A teacher’s ability to relate well with students is more important than excellent knowledge of the subject being taught. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

A teacher with a great ability to relate with the student is more important than a teacher with excellent knowledge for many reasons. Some students have difficulties to be understood and a teacher with good capabilities of listening effectively, showing genuine interest is important for the formation of every student. Aslo, students spend plenty of time with their teacher. If the teacher does not relate well with the students, they can lose interest in the class, even though the teacher might have excellent knowledge of the subject.

When teachers do not relate well with their students, it can have a serious negative impact on their students’ ability to learn. For instance, a student who has low self-esteem has more difficulty speaking up and asking questions. When this happens, these students stop paying attention to the class and lose focus. Some students with this problem often are afraid to ask to repeat what they have not clearly understood as they are not confident enough to ask about the subject that is being taught. Moreover, some students do not feel comfortable letting an unrelatable teacher know about their problems.

On the other hand, teachers who have the ability to relate well with their students often have better empathy, and often try to teach in different ways in order for their students to better understand the subjects. Often these types of teachers are flexible in their methods of teaching in order to engage struggling students. In other words, if the student is being quiet and less attentive, some teachers understand that he could have lost interest in the class. In order to grab the student’s attention, these teachers might switch their methods or style of explaining their points by making students part of the class. Furthermore, students who have been participating in their class can feel that their voice has been heard.

Teachers have a great impact on the formation of the youth. Being a good teacher means inspiring their students, who will remember them for their whole lives. Finally, a good teacher should have excellent knowledge, but more importantly should relate well with their students in order to make students' educational journey a positive part of their formation.