"Some young children spend a great amount of their time practicing sports. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer."

There are some advantages and disadvantages to practicing sports. Practicing sports is a great way to improve young children's physical health and development. Children who are engaged in sports which are aligned with their interests can enhance their passion for their future careers. However, over play may cause some serious injuries at a young age.

To begin with, children who spend a great amount of time practicing and joining group activities can have the advantage of learning a variety of useful skills such as teamwork, leadership, self-awareness etc. Moreover, If children work hard in every practice, they can build persistence and learn the importance of patience, which pays off in the end. On the other hand, one disadvantage for children who have not developed stamina is they might give up easily. The nature of every sport will always be a winner and a loser and the chances of being one or the other is inevitable. Some children have a hard time processing the idea of losing, and this sometimes can end up ruining the fun in the game because they have not dedicated enough time to their practices to build their strengths. Some children do not know how to control their emotions in times of losing.

Second, children gain great benefits from playing sports in many ways. For instance, children build muscles, maintain healthy joints, control weights etc. Additionally, sports can benefit children academically too. Playing sports can help children increase concentration and become better in their studying. As a result, sports help children grow their brain and make it work better. However, some parents force their children to play sports and to practice even more. Consequently, this action decreases/ takes away from the enjoyment of the game, and children can start losing motivation. Also, forcing children to play a huge amount of time without their consent can damage their mental and physical health. Further, children can start developing depression and anxiety due to the extra effort that they have to give to maintain the resilience to keep up.

Sports can impact children's future in a good or bad way if it is practiced correctly. In order to not affect children's futures, it would be worth it to make sure that children are enjoying the sport. Finally, children should play sports for a moderate amount of time so they can benefit from it without having side effects.