Some young children spend a great amount of their time practicing sports. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

It is well-known that most children love to practice and play sports. Most parents are quite happy about this because sports activities have many benefits for their chid’s development and progress. However, spending various hours practicing sport could bring negatives consequences like lost their focus on their schoolwork. In my opinion, everything has pros and cons; the important thing is finding a proper balance.

On the one hand, practicing sport helps children in their body development and their future. It is a proven fact that the number of children with extra weight has increased in the last years. As a consequence, many children develop several issues in their joins or early heart problems. Between 10 and 16 years old is a delicate period for children, and practicing any activity would reduce their possibility of contracting some diseases. Another advantage is that outstanding athletes could apply for scholarships in the future. Universities have a full scholarships offer for athletes. In other words, they could have more opportunities in their studies and jobs.

On the other hand, during the school period children have to pay attention to studying. Actually, they face many other school activities that are beneficial for their future such as music, math, and other subjects. If they are immersing in sports many hours a day, they could lose their focus on schoolwork, which may be the most critical responsibility at this age. Consequently, investing spare time in sport could negatively impact other areas, and they could avoid any subject that could involve a different future.

In conclusion, while we should encourage our children to participate in sport, we also keep in mind that they should also focus on schoolwork. I am convinced that a balance between sport and study is the best direction for children during this period.