To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Due to the rapid globalization and urbanization, cities often become the economic, social and cultural hub of a country. Due to high standards of living, better life expectancy people often choose to live in the city. This has helped break the age-old homogeneous societies. The people from all over the country come to cities and with them bring their own traditions, customs and heritage. These are the people that form the cities, which bring life to the cities and make up the society.

Usually, the countries get defined through their cities. They often serve as the landmark for the most important historical events. The Statue of Liberty in New York, Eiffel Tower in Paris, The Berlin Wall, The India Gate in New Delhi, The Gateway of India in Mumbai and the Victoria Memorial in Kolkata, needs no introduction. They elucidate the various ideas, philosophy, cultural heritage that their respective country had gone through.

Now one may argue that villages and town will illustrate better traditions of the country. However, the enthusiasm of the city dwellers during the festivals are unmatched. Nowhere in the world can you find the cheerfulness of Ganesh festival in Mumbai, the lights and serenity of Durga Pooja in Kolkata, The Onam in Chennai etc.

In conclusion, the cities have always been a characteristic part of the country. The major cities can enlighten you about the characteristic of the society.