To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Cities have long been a major hub of trends and practices prevalent in a nation. They have often been the representative of their countries - be it New York for United States, Tokyo for Japan, Mumbai for India or Sydney for Australia. They often have a distinct identity of themselves within the country. The prompt suggests that in order to understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study it's major cities. I disagree with the prompt for two main reasons.

Firstly, major cities by it's very nature are cosmopolitan and transient. Being major hubs, they often attract people from all over the world. As such as these cities progress and grow, they become a mish mash of a global culture as opposed to being representative of the culture of the nation. One major instance of this is countries that have majority of their economy in rural areas. India, one such country would seem a industrial hub if going by the impression created by it's major cities. But the fact of the matter is, majority of the population in the country resides in its rural areas and depends upon agriculture as a source of livelihood. Other fact is cities are very transient in it's nature, in order to keep up with the world, it has to constantly update and renew itself in order to continue being a global hub. As such the society itself is left behind in the race to be the best in the world. Visiting cities like New York and San Francisco, one maybe lead to a belief that United States as a whole is a country having a huge predilection towards IT, however such a view would conveniently neglect a well established manufacturing sector and agricultural sector which lies in the midwest part of the nation. These sectors also play a very important role, if not a defining one, in ascertaining the characteristics of American society.

Secondly, the society, it's culture and characteristics originate in the rural areas - it's towns and villages. These places are un-encumbered the ever changing trend of globalisation and often free to continue it's tradition. This phenomena can also be owed to fact that people in rural areas tend to be conservative and are more likely to hold on to their culture than their urban counterparts who are willing to let go for sake of modernisation and personal goals. A perfect example of this is the fact that while the modern homes in Japan comprise of apartments and concrete houses, the rural homes, faithful to its tradition are still built out of wood and contain sliding doors. Another example would be while urban population of India prefer using ceramic and steel plates for food, the rural population prefers biodegradable plates made of banana leaves pointing to their agricultural roots.

I concede that while cities provide a very holistic of the society encompassing it's multifaceted nature. However such an understanding is bound to be inaccurate contaminated by outside influences. In order to understand key characteristics of a society, one must look at it's point of origin - it's roots, the towns and villages.