To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In deve

Study of major cities provides a great deal of incite about the characteristics of a society. But, it is not the only required source to understand the most important characteristics of a society. Instead, non-major cities are more suited for thoroughly understanding the characteristics of a society.

First, there are no specific guidelines for determining the "major cities" of a society or a nation. There are several views/opinions according to which one may categorize a city as a major or non-major city. Usually, cities that are highly developed and populous are considered to be major cities.

Since the major cities are developed/developing, they do not retain the traditional culture or the traditional characteristics of the society required for full comprehension of the characteristics of a society. Instead, non-major cities are better sources to understand the culture of society as they tend to rely on traditional methods and culture.

For instance, the Indian nation is one of the most socially and culturally diverse nation. Mumbai, being one of the major city, should be a great source of knowledge for understanding the Indian society, but it's not the case. Instead, Jaipur which is not at par with Mumbai (in rankings of major cities), is a much better city for understanding characteristics the society, it still retains the traditional and cultural heritage passed down by previous generation descendants. Major cities cannot be sufficient to provide incite of characteristics of a society.

As major population resides in major cities, people from different regions migrate to major cities, major cities can also help in learning a great deal about the society. People from different regions have different cultural and traditional views, and since major cities consist of people from the different region, studying them can also help to understand important characteristics of a society.

Major cities consist a great deal of knowledge for understanding the important characteristics of a society but the non-major cities also important and should be studied, as the help to fully comprehend the most important characteristics of a society.