Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

University is a place where students can seek higher education in the fields that they are interested in. However, it can also be a place for them to broaden their perspective and challenge themselves in trying out new things. Also, it is a place for students to enjoy their first freedom as an adult and I believe the university should not rule that out. Universities should not force the students to take variety of different courses even when the students do not wish.

Some people might argue that it is highly important for students to be erudite not only in what they major but in multiple fields. This might be true because the society and the companies do seem to favor people who are not only adept in their expertise but are also well acknowledged in other fields. However, this can't still be a reason for universities to force the students to take courses outside of their study. Students should be able to choose their own courses based on their taste. If there are students who wish to only focus on what they choose to pursue, the university should not get in their way. Furthermore, the number of fields students should be acknowledged in may vary depending on what they wish to do for their living. For example, if a student wishes to become a software engineering, it only requires the student to be erudite in computer science rather than having little knowledge in multiple areas.

In addition, forcing students to take variety of courses from different fields might give them extensive amount of pressure. There might be studies that are simply not right for them. For instance, it would extremely difficult and stressful for students who major in art to take courses related to engineering and mechanics. Of course being familiar to other studies of fields may help them in the future, it is not the university's responsibility to make students take courses outside of their study. Causing students to be under extensive amount of pressure might be the result of such action.

Due to the reasons above, I believe it is wrong for the universities to have students take courses outside of their study. Letting students choose the courses in whichever field they wish to pursue and preserving the students' freedom is what the university should do.