Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

The choice of one's field of study is not a trivial one. In fact, it is not uncommon for entering students to ruminate on this decision for days, perhaps months and once a decision has been made, immediately begin to second guess it. The prompt suggests that every student has to do courses which are not in their field of study along with their departmental courses. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this suggestion and argue that students should not be forced to do courses out of their field of study for two reasons.

To begin, student's interest in a field of study plays a key role in his/her future endeavors. For instance, if a student who is interested in civil engineering, forced to take courses from other departments such as computer science or electrical engineering then she wouldn't excel in these courses as she is not interested and could not spend as much time on core courses and will end up with an undermined job. The above example illustrates that if she is not forced to do other department courses then she could spend more time on his/her field of study courses and will get a job that suits for his/her talent.

Further, even if we assume all students got jobs in any field as they are doing variety of courses outside of their field of study, it will impact on the overall economy. For instance, if a student is forced to do courses from out of the field and is interested in respective field of study for suppose nuclear engineering then she could not be able to learn as much from their interested field of study as she has to spend some time on out of the filed courses. Let us assume she got a job in some nuclear engineering company and she is putting her complete efforts to improve the company's growth and thereby improving country's economy but she can do more. The above example illustrates that if she is not forced to do other department courses then he could spend more time on his/her field of study courses and comparatively she can be more effective in her company's work and which leads to more improvement in the company's growth as well as on country's economy.

Of course, some may argue that by doing courses out of the field the scope of getting a job for a students increases. I agree with this but what I am saying is universities should give freedom to opt for courses out of the field but not forcing the students.