As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, but more complex and mysterious.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take

Why does one acquire knowledge? We humans acquire knowledge to better understand the world around us. And this better understanding has increased the quality of human life. From the invention of wheel to electricity, the more knowledge we acquire the more luxurious life has become.

Since the knowledge acquired helps in better understanding of things, this knowledge can then be applied in real world, this can lead to new inventions. For example Wright brothers studied the concepts of air pressure and aerodynamics and by applying this knowledge they invented the world's first powered flight. And today aviation is a prominent and growing sector.

Additionally, the more knowledge we acquire, more inventions or discoveries can be made. Because the old knowledge acts as foundation to do new things. For example, NASA used Apollo missions for exploring moon, but the initial Apollo missions such as Apollo 9 didn't land on moon. Apollo 9 and its crew were only sent to gain knowledge about moon, they orbited the moon collecting data for processing at NASA Earth station. Based on knowledge gained from such missions NASA further researched and developed Apollo 11, which was the first space craft to land astronauts on moon. Even latest missions carried out by NASA for Mars are possible because of knowledge gained till now.

The idea that by gaining more knowledge, things become more complex is an illusion. Few people perceive this notion because some representation of knowledge might be jargons for them, but it might not be so for others. For instance, a pilot on seeing big data servers might hold the view that "knowledge has made things complex", and similarly when a computer engineer looks into a airplane cockpit would uphold the same view. The reason being, because of massive information available people are trained with only the knowledge necessary for them, making other forms of information a mystery.

Ultimately, the expansion of human knowledge is what has led to the world as we see today. The more knowledge we gain, the more we understand about things around us, and the more we understand, the more enlightened humans become. Only because people can't comprehend some things, because they haven't been trained in that field doesn't make it complex or mysterious.