TOPIC # 54 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? One should never judge a person by external appearances.

I absolutely believe that we should never judge people based on their external appearances, and can’t think of any rational argument to support the contrary. However, judging people for their appearances is a common mistake that people all over the world do, due to some common misconceptions people have.

It is a widely held belief that someone who dresses well or looks smart is a good person, people make this assumption implicitly without even realising it. There is absolutely zero evidence of any correlation between our external appearance and our characteristics. Infact, when I was very young I was once lost in a crowded area, my parents out of compulsion started asking people around for help. That’s when a home less man came forward to help my parents in finding me, if it wasn’t for that incident such a person would not be judged as a good person if only external appearances mattered.

Another reason why people resort to judging by appearances, is the fear of not understanding the other person. If a person we meet is not of our race or looks differently then we tend to automatically form a negative opinion of him or her. From birth we humans are trained to be defensive in nature, and I believe this defensive nature kicks in when we meet a person who does not confirm to our perspective of how a good person should look.

However, there can be situations where we may need to make an educational guess based on a person’s appearance. For instance, if you are facing a problem at a public place, like loosing your mobile phone, you may have to ask for help from people around. In such a situation our mind will automatically start profiling people around us to find the best candidate to help us, our sole criteria becomes their external appearance. Even in such situations I would recommend not to base your decision on materialistic factors like cloths, watch etc.

The same way as one cannot judge a book by its cover, we cannot judge a person by their external appearance. Every person is different and brings with him or her a lifetime of experience, and I believe its our responsibility to give every one a fair chance to present themselves before jumping to conclusions.