TOEFL. Independent writing. Some people prefer to live in a small town. Others prefer to live in a bigcity

I lived in a small town during my school days and moved to a big city for college and eventually work. Both small towns and big cities have their own pros and cos, however I prefer living in big cities. I believe living in big cities raises the standard of living and also provides better opportunities for personal growth.

There is no doubt that standard of living is lot higher in big cities compared to small towns, cities have better infrastructure, more active law and order and better public utility services. Small towns may not have metros and public bus infrastructure and because of little media scrutiny the law and order situation too may not be upto mark. When I was living in a small town we didn’t have any public transport and had to rely on personal vehicles completely. Moreover when I had to give exams for my college admissions, I would have to travel to the nearest city for the exam center.

Another important area where big cities excel is the exposure and opportunities they provide. Almost all cities are filled with diverse people from different bag-rounds, interacting with such people helps develop a broader perspective. Opportunities available to the residents are also lot more than can be expected from a small towns as most of the companies setup their offices in cities. When my parents moved to Mumbai, it was very easy for me to apply for various jobs, there was no dearth of opportunities in Mumbai, the companies themselves usually prefer to hire from local talent pool to save costs.

Small towns have their own advantages, they are great for growing up. When I was growing up in a small town, I played in the biggest play grounds I have seen, and almost the entire town was my friend one way or the other. But in today’s world cities offer a lot better opportunity for one’s future and is infact evident from the growing urbanization numbers year on year.