TOEFL. Independent writing. Some people prefer to live in a small town. Others prefer to live in a big

city

The place of residence has a lasting impact on all spheres of your life. It may determine your career advancement, opportunities for education, the level of comfort—all life prospects, in general. Therefore, some people, selecting the place to live, may opt for choosing big cities. Others would prefer more serene areas such as small towns. If I were asked to choose where to live—either in a small town or in a big city, I would choose a big city without any doubts. There are several reasons that explain my preference.

First, big cities provide more opportunities to find a job you dream about. It is not a secret that most of the big, famous, and well-developed companies are concentrated in the centers of big cities. For instance, if you walk in the center of Moscow, the capital of Russian Federation, you will see huge offices of IBM, Google, Shell—all those companies the majority of people desire to work for. These companies have thousands of employees, hundreds of different jobs, and as such a lot of vacancies. They have different positions for managers, experienced specialists, and students. Besides, small companies cannot offer you as big selection of jobs as big companies can. Whether we like it or not, the majority of big companies do not do business in small towns. Consequently, if you are willing to get a good job, there are more chances to get it a big city.

Second, a social life, which is very important nowadays, is way more active in big cities. By “social life” I mean attending different social or business events and forums, and visiting galleries or museums. To be socially active is very important for your professional and personal development. Big cities can offer you thousands of different social activities. Every single person can find something she or he likes and become a part of different communities. For instance, last month I attended SAP forum in Moscow. Many SAP professionals from different businesses gathered to discuss new technologies on the market. I had made a lot of new business contacts, so when I started my new project, I already knew companies with which I can work. There is no surprise that my project went well, because I was working with the best people in the industry. As you can see, active social life is one of the most important parts of your business. This is where big cities easily outdo small towns by offering you a lot of opportunities to enhance yourself socially.

To sum up, if you are an active person, if you have big career goals, and if you have a lot of hobbies, then big cities are for you. If you wonder where the best universities and most famous galleries are located or where the biggest events take place, the answer is – in the big cities.