“As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible but rather more complex and mysterious”

Knowledge for a particular thing is an imperative aspect in understanding its functions as well as identifying the flaws in it. Basic knowledge about any concerning thing makes that thing easy to analyze and makes it more comprehensible. However, in my opinion, I mostly disagree with the suggestion that “Acquiring more knowledge makes things more complex and mysterious rather than making them comprehensible” and argue with 3 reasons given below.

First of all, acquiring knowledge about a particular thing, not only provides as a foundation for its basic understanding but with our creative mind promotes us to create modification and alterations in those things with new ideas. For instance, in the study of engineering of heavy structures and machines, a person needs to have basic knowledge regarding its mechanism and working. It is only through knowledge a person can broaden his understanding and upgrade things in the future if required. Thus, by studying its working and mechanisms, any complex machine will be comprehensible for a person. The above example illustrates that knowledge plays a key role in serving as a basic understanding of any particular field or thing.

Secondly, with the help of our knowledge, we can analyze the situations and identify the flaws. For instance, in a hypothetical situation, where there is a technical failure in some machines, a person with erudite knowledge of that machinery will be able to discern the technical errors and thus, fix them. A business-minded person also needs to have knowledge about the business strategies if he wants to make his business profitable. The knowledge in our mind concerning a particular field provides us flexibility in thinking and analyzing the situation. It also provides us a foresight about the consequences of our actions.

Those who disagree with my view might claim that there are certain scenarios in which acquiring more knowledge about that particular field has increased the complexity of that situation. For example, the field of quantum mechanics is a vast intricate field. Scientists tend to find things more complex and mysterious in quantum mechanics as they study more of it. One such example in this field is The String Theory. As scientists gained more knowledge regarding this field, their perception and outlook towards this theory started to differ. Thus, various conclusions and assertions from different scientists increased the complexity of the study. However, similar generalizations cannot be made about the knowledge gain in a particular field as the level of understanding and complexity of each field is different.

In essence, the assertion made by the author is narrowly drawn as according to the level of complexity of a field, knowledge can help us to make things more comprehensible by observing a bigger picture or can lead to multiple postulations which can ultimately increases the complexity of that thing.