Young people should be encouraged to pursue long-term, realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Young people are often make the mistake of running towards fame without any second thoughts. The advent of social media has derailed young people from the right track. The prompt recommends that young people should indulge in activities and act upon them only after considering the long-term effects of their actions, they should not worry about fame at such a tender age. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this suggestion and believe that long-term goals result in better outcomes for two reasons.

To begin with, long-term and realistic goals give a fair shot to a person to achieve his/her goal. A realistic goal makes it viable to pursue and achieve, for it is in the bounds or capabilities of that person. S/he might not be the only one going towards that realistic goal but this doesn’t diminish the value of it. Everyone has their own preference, if it aligns with someone else it doesn’t make it not worthy of pursuing in a moment. The long-term approach combined with realistic expectations gives the person enough time to act towards his goal, for no amount of success is achieved in a day. For example, if a student who aspires to be doctor must be patient enough to work hard for a long time, it’s a realistic goal, but s/he must work day and night, get through the medical school to achieve this goal of his/her, but if the student gets charmed by fame and recognition, he might throw his goal away to become famous, and there’s no guarantee for which fame he’s leaving his dream, he'll get it. He might not also be able to become a doctor without hard work but if he truly desires to be and it is his goal he’ll try hard work cannot be said the same for the things he’s doing only for secondary reasons.

Another reason will be the fleeting nature of fame, fame is not permanent, even though nothing in life is but in my opinion fame is one of the most unstable one. For even an incautious statement might put a famous person in jeopardy and not to mention the lack of privacy famous people get. Getting such fame at a young is enough to make anyone feel as if he’s in clouds but this is not a good thing. There have been many examples where young people get a lot of fame but then later it affects their mental health for social media bullying, abusive comments being one of the biggest reasons. Many young celebrities have given up on their life, because a young person being inexperienced to real world haven’t learned much to fight the harsh realities if the world. In such circumstances it’s best for young people to focus on their goals and must not care about fame, instead work hard to achieve their goals.

There might be arguments that being famous gives you a lot of benefits, such as access to high social life, affluence but is really worth putting your mental health through extreme conditions, just to earn high status early in life? No matter what the cost is, there’s nothing more valuable than a person’s life, for which mental health is of utmost importance. With progressing slowly towards realistic goals one can hope to learn at his own pace.