Young people should be encouraged to pursue long-term, realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition.

We admire famous people one way or the other. Be it Hollywood actors or entrepreneurs, we love to follow them. We admire them and dream of living like them. Especially young people who are yet to face their life think of being famous in a short period. However, they fail to realize the effort behind it, the countless hours of struggle to achieve it. I agree with the prompt that young people should look forward to pursue long-term, realistic goals.

Long term goals have bigger impact and to achieve these goals, one needs to take tiny steps over a very long period which has small impacts individually but when it is aggregated together, it looks huge. A person who targets to achieve long-term goal should have discipline in his/her life. They need to be taken up in small amounts at regular intervals of time. For instance, Mahatma Gandhi led several movements in Indian independence. He took the non-violent route as opposed to his contemporaries who thought they could overpower British in an armed battle. It might seem logical to fight British who used to oppress Indians, ruled them over decades, exploited natural resources available in the country, yet Mahatma Gandhi had a vision to free the country. He took small yet significant steps and united people to take part in his non-violent movements. The important factor which led to the independence was the united India, the weakness using which British had conquered the entire country.

As long as we stay focused on the long-term goal and we take steps to achieve it, we don’t need to bother about distractions in life. A wonderful concept taught in stock market that is applicable in real life is the power of computing. This is used by investors including the famous Warren Buffet, i.e., staying invested for a very long period and let the money grow itself. It is said that 99 percent of his wealth came after his 60th birthday. The same concept holds true in one’s life. Small steps that help in getting a bigger goal would mean, as the time passes, the effort required to do the tasks would be much less than the result. Mainly because long term goals force us to adapt certain habits that builds up as we grow. It shapes our personality. Working on such goals will also help people to experiment a lot of things and have bandwidth to recover if failed. One can try out a lot of new things and even if some of them fail, they will have a longer time to cover the losses.

If people try to be famous in a short period, people might be motivated to undertake unethical practices which might hurt them in the long run. Moreover, such fame lasts only for a short period. It also makes people overconfident. One needs to make careful decisions in every step of their lives no matter how famous they are. It is not true that all famous people do not think of long-term. But most young people simply look at the fame they currently have and simply aim for it. They do not think of the small steps that famous people have taken to be where they are. Moreover, it is possible that they are still working on the long-term goal that they have set. Elon Musk for example is one of the famous entrepreneurs in the world. He is the founder of PayPal, Tesla, SpaceX and many more. His long-term vision may be to transform Earth into using sustainable energy or travelling to another planet or perhaps another universe. With all the businesses that he created, they helped him to learn new things. A few of them failed and a few of them are valued as one of the richest companies in the world.

In conclusion, it is important for young people to understand what is ahead in life. Few things are inevitably a part of life like managing money, health or being independent etc. With social media booming, we admire a lot of people and their fame and dream of achieving it. Those people may be very poor at managing money or they are jobless. Youngsters need to think of where they want to see themselves in 10/15/20 years. For this sufficient and realistic plan needs to be in place and people should work on it constantly, one step at a time.