Countries are much more interesting and develop more quickly when their population includes a mixture of different nationalities and cultures.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Multiculturalism has become a trend in many countries worldwide. It is believed that multiculturalism will make countries more interesting and develop more faster. In my perspective, I tend to agree with this statement and will elaborate below.

There are certainly some reasons why countries will become more interesting. To start with, more recreational activities can be introduced. Chinese Chess, which originated from china, has gained its popularity in western countries. Active participation of such activities allows local people to experiences the fascination of Chinese culture. Apart from this, traditions in foreign countries also diversify local culture. Australians, for example, realize that there is another way to Chinese New Year by making Chinese dishes such rice cakes and coke chicken, during celebrating Spring Festival. As a result, local people may learn more about the culture of different nationalities and cuisine.

However, there are opposing voices saying that mixture of different nationalities in countries not always positive development. On the one hand, foreign experts may help the current country boost the productivity. As most experts come from developed countries with advanced technology knowledge, they would possible create more sophisticated machines for Australia, which may vastly increase the output of the manufacturing industry. On the other hand, language barrier is a headache to many employers. In most cases, immigrants speak limited English because they have never learned that language before they migrate to Australia. Due to poor communication in workplace, it results low efficiency.

In conclusion, multiculturalism has both positives and negatives. However, I still think this should be adopted because its advantages outweigh disadvantages.