A growing number of people feel that animals should not be exploited by people and that they should have the same rights as humans, while others argue that humans must employ animals to satisfy their various needs, including uses for food and research.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There has been an increasing debate about how humans must treat animals. While some believe that animals must have the same rights as humans, and, therefore, the animals should not be harmed, others think that treatment of animals must be based on their uses such as its role in laboratories for scientists to conduct experiments and as food source for consumption.

First and foremost, there are people who argue that animals should be allowed to live freely and safely just like humans. Proponents of this view feel that animals must be viewed invaluably, similar to how humans treat their counterparts. For instance, instead of killing animals for food, it is worth noting that there are still bountiful food sources such as some types of fruits and vegetables that will provide protein and healthy fat to people. In addition to this, people who support this belief think that if animals are harmed, the balance in the ecosystem will most likely suffer as humans and animals must co-exist to survive. Therefore, the protection of animal life is significant towards the survival of both species, and this can be achieved by observing animal rights just like humans.

However, the opponents argue that animals are needed by humans for a variety of reasons. For one, animals are a primary source of protein and fats that other alternatives like fruits and vegetables cannot provide, and these nutrients are vital in the provision of nourishment to the human body. To illustrate this further, without eating enough meat, humans will suffer from certain disease conditions, for example, marasmus, an illness that is characterized as severe undernourishment especially in children who do not eat enough protein. Additionally, for practical reasons, people who give merit on this view think that animals serve as the best option where experiments can be conducted such as in searching for better and effective medications. Since the adverse reactions of these drugs are unknown, they believe that it is more acceptable that these researches are carried out on animals. Consequently, in the hope of finding medications to treat diseases, animals contribute positively to humans.

To conclude, considering the point that animals must be respected as if they have equal rights as humans, in my opinion, however, we need animals as important sources of food which is vital to our health. Moreover, I support the idea that animals are used in laboratories in search for better medications to treat infirmities of humans effectively.