In many part of the world there is continuous coverage of sport on television. Some people believe this discourages the young from taking part of any sport themselves. Discuss this view and give your own opinion.

Today in almost countries over the world, sport programs are booming on television with numerous channels covered various kinds of sport. Some people concern that this situation will deter young people from participating in any sport themselves. In my opinion I strongly disagree with this view.

Admittedly, by dint of the wide range of channels with unceasing broadcasting of sports, young people may be attracted to spend many hours watching them on TV. Therefore, they will have less time to play sport themselves. However the irony here is that hardly could this thing reduce the time that the young spend to take part of sport. It is obvious that teenagers spend most of their time of playing sport at school, which can provides sufficient sport facilities for them. For example, my brother, who is fond of football, spends one hour everyday at his school for football practice, and he rarely play it at home. In addition, definitely, there is no way that student can watch sport program at school.

On the other hand, it is claimed that as the sport shows are designed to be more appealing and sophisticated, the young will be more interested in watching them rather than taking part in sport themselves. Nevertheless by no means can young people be discouraged by these programs because they are very active and always want to express themselves. To specify, when children watch sport, they become admired the sport stars and it will motivate them to participate in sport lesson in order to emulate their idols. For instance, since children in my neighborhood watched Premier League football match at weekends, they practiced football more frequently.

In conclusion, although it is undeniable that sport channels may discourage some people from playing sport themselves, the young are rarely affected by this.