News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

The broadcast on television and the print in newspapers are generally decided by editors. There are many factors that influence these decisions. Due to these factors, we are often exposed to unauthentic or biased news. The situation could be improved by reporting the good news.

Editors are generally influenced by several factors. Firstly, they are more biased towards the political parties which are on the power. They feel fear to post or broadcast any negative news about the parties which are on the power. They constantly post or broadcast only the good deeds about their favorite parties neglecting all the dishonest and bad deeds. Such things are more prevalent in third world countries. Secondly, most of the television channels and newspapers are funded by rich businessmen. In such case, editors generally show strong favor towards the owners by broadcasting or writing only what the owners want to express.

Due to the notorious trend as I mentioned above, it is obvious that we are not getting the right news which we are supposed to get. As a result, we make the false judgement about the parties and people. Moreover,same news is delivered in two different angles from two companies according to their desire which often result in confusion to the readers or viewers.

It would be better if there is some kinds of restriction or regulation imposed by the government on media so that we wouldn't have to feel cheated while reading newspaper or watching programme on television.