The number of overweight children in developed countries is increasing. Some people think this is due to problems such as the growing number of fast food outlets. Others believe that parents are to blame for not looking after their children's health.

Nowadays one of the most spoken problems is the increased number of obese young people in developed countries. Many people believe that fast food restaurants contribute to this problem since they offer unhealthy and fat food. By contrast, others consider that the increased number of obese children is due to parents who neglect their offsprings' health. In my opinion, there would be less children who are suffering from the excessive weight, if parents paid attention to their children's health properly.

According to World Health Organisation (WHO), the number of obese children in developed countries has significantly increased over the past two decades. It is assumed that there is a link between the increased number of overweight children and the growing number of fast food restaurants since usually the amount of fat in fast foods exceeds the permissible norms of fat. Moreover, hamburgers and fries, which are considered as an unhealthy food, are affordable to population and usually located near educational institutes. Thus, it might seem that the growing number of fast food restaurants are contributing to the increased number of obese people, most of whom are children; nonetheless, there are more significant factors which facilitate individuals, particularly children, to be obese.

Parents who are mainly responsible for their children's health and overall well-being should control their offsprings' diet and lifestyle. If children, for instance, are forbidden strictly to visit fast food restaurants by their parents, the number of children who eat at fast food outlets will be significantly decreased. In addition, parents should encourage their children to lead more active life: doing sport and spending less time in front of a computer, rather than sedentary one.

In conclusion, I absolutely agree with that parents are responsible for the increased number of obese children since they have a significant influence on their children to lead a healthy lifestyle.