Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on punishment.

Discuss both these views and your own opinion.

People have different views whether or not government should prosecute a crime. While some people argue that the application of fixed sanction is necessity for each type of crime, some others tend to be convinced that the reasons and conditions of criminals should be considered prior to imposing on sanctions. Therefore, I believe that those who commit crimes should be reformed based on the humanity aspect.

Some people firmly believe that there is no leniency for criminals, as it is a crime. The people assume that if the court of appeals deciding on punishment for defendants without considering the situation when they did; it would provide a deterrent effect. Moreover, it affects the citizen would not do the similar actions. An obvious example can be seen that, law system in China implements fixed punishment for all criminals. Consequently, it leads to decrease a number of criminal cases in the country. While that system is efficient to drop down criminal activity, I believe it would rise critics from world citizen due to fix punishment is not humanity.

On the other hand, other people argue that the decision on suction will be taken at the court after considering the accuser’s motivations and conditions. Because of, not every person, who did the criminal case, planed on what they did. It would be fairer and more humanism when the court of justice pays attention for defendants’ circumstances before sentenced. For instance, a murderer in Indonesia just received a prison sentence for three days because the circumstance forces him to kill someone. If he did not kill the people, he would be killed. Condition of defending oneself causes the judiciary lighten his sentence behind of this case is not to kill but to survive in the difficult situation. That decision is highly commendable; nevertheless, in my personal view, it should have strong evidence and witnesses to review the criminal actions.

To conclude, imposing on criminals without considering the circumstances and motivations may cause deterrent effect and citizen would not commit a crime. However, considering the criminals’ condition and motivation would be fairer and more humane. For this reason, the court of appeals in a number of countries throughout the world should consider humanism aspect for pass sentence.