The spread of multinational companies and the increase in globalisation produce positive effects for everyone . Do you agree or disagree ?

I disagree with the statement that the growing globalisation along with the expanding multinational companies benefits all the people . Although supporters of globalisation claim that there are many benefits of MNCs , they are in fact damaging the quality of life . A number of arguments support my opinion .

My first argument relates to their products . Supporters of globalisation would argue that multinational companies produce high quality goods available to most people . While this may be true to some extent , its also means we have less choice of products to buy . When powerful multinational companies invade local markets with their goods , they often force local companies with fewer resources to go out of business . In consequences , we are obliged to buy multinational products whether we like them or not .

Secondly , it is sometimes said that MNCs and globalisation are making societies more open . This is true to some extent but the fact cannot be ignored that as a result the human race is losing its cultural diversity . If we consumed different products societies all over the world would be more varied . This can be seen by the fact that we all shop in similar multinational supermarkets and buy identical products wherever we live .

Thirdly , defenders of multinational companies often point out that they provide employment . Although this is undoubtedly true it also means we have become more dependent on them which in turn makes us more vulnerable to their decisions . When , for example , a multinational company decides to move its production facility to another country , this has an adverse effect on its workers who lose their jobs . What is more , the jobs MNCs provide are not paid as much as they have to pay for similar jobs in their country . So , in fact they are exploiting workers of poor nations .

To put it in a nutshell , I pen down saying that , multinational companies do have their benefits , but they also have their drawbacks and not everyone is benefited by them .