Television cannot replace the book as a learning tool, which is why children also less well educated today.

Discuss this view and give your own opinion.

It is certainly true that education is very important for the future of youths, there is an issue that watching TV programs can also be a productive learning tool as well as reading a book. However, some people argue that TV shows still cannot replace the value of books. Personally, I disagree with this statement and believe that TV programs can be one of educational effective measures for youths.

To begin with, the first reason to argue this statement is that children can learn better through visual input and audio input. As many studies have revealed that efficient learning methods are the visual stimulation and audio stimulation, thus watching pictures along with audio sound from TV helps to boost a child’ s imagination than only reading from books. Therefore, the educational institution should be more concerned about this sort of learning and produces more knowledgeable movies or TV shows in order to promote children’s education.

Secondly, it is undeniable that youngsters these days have introduced to apply technological devices. Younger people are more likely to acquire new information from watching TV and using the internet rather than searching from text books. Traditional studying measures such as reading from printed books becomes an old fashion method, after other excellent facilities can provide a wider range of knowledge. Younger people have changed learning styles to watch documentaries or scientific 3D movies instead, thus children should be allowed to get interesting experience via watching educational TV shows. Taken BBC documentary channel as an example, the wildlife in Africa and several research reports about scientific exploration could be offered to a child, who might have little experience about nature.

Lastly, in term of cost of text books, it is normally expensive than electronic copies. With a certain lower among of budget, children might not be able to afford all printed books that they want unlike watching TV programs that requires no cost. Therefore, reading books sometimes may not available for people who have a small budget.

In conclusion, there are many reasons to argue this belief as the various aspects from TV, the preference of TV in youths and the price concern. All of these support the idea that why watching TV can also be a productive learning method for youngsters as similar as reading a book.