You are planning to study abroad. What do you think you will like and dislike about this experience. Why?

No one can argue that education is very important for getting a good opportunity. It becomes a new trend these days that people broaden their knowledge by studying overseas. Some people assert that it has many merits, however some people say that it also has many demerits for students. Both advantages and disadvantages will be discussed carefully.

To begin with, there are abundant good sides of attending abroad education. Firstly, an individual will become an independent person. Students could have their own lives when they live in other nations. Living in a campus apartment builds younger people to be more

responsible because they have to clean, cook and do all household tasks by themselves. Without helps from families, it definitely boosts youths to be more reliant and mature as they have to cope and solve all problems by themselves. Secondly, studying abroad widens good opportunities for students. Having a degree from overseas, it opens many international doors for students. Students could get a job in their own country or other jobs in other countries after they have valuable experience from an international level and be able to speak other languages.

On the other hand, going to abroad also has several drawbacks. Firstly, a person may find a hard time to adjust in a new environment. Lacking support from friends and family, it affects a person’s feeling. Missing their home country, students could become depressed and have emotional problems which also affects to their studies. Secondly, another barrier is language. Even though students have fundamental skills in a second language, they would still have some problems when they communicate with native speakers. Having different accents, students may not be able to communicate fluently.

From my perspective, living in abroad is very challenging for me. It can broaden my horizon and allows me to get a higher opportunity in a massive level. After I live and study in overseas, I will have a degree and be able to speak a second language confidently. Moreover, I could learn other cultures and know about different traditions. Therefore, I would like to go to study abroad, if I have a good chance in the future.

In conclusion, the advantages of studying overseas can contribute to learning to be an independent person and acquiring better opportunities; however it also leads to homesickness and a language barrier. Overall, the benefits of this education are much more than negative developments.