11:17 PM

Schools should focus more on teaching students how to be successful in the workforce and less on helping them to achieve academic success. Agree or disagree?

These days, people are facing the dilemma of whether or not schools should put more emphasis on preparing students for their future work than improving their academic performance. Although I agree that educational technique should take care of the development of the workforce, I suppose academic success is also crucial and should be treated equally.

Admittedly, there is no guarantee that school graduates who can pass their exams with flying colors are able to ultimately apply the theoretical knowledge to the workplace. However, outstanding academic records are not merely based upon how well a student can memories what is taught in textbook but also his or her abilities, including logical and analytical thinking and positive attitude for overcoming difficulties, like persistence and determination, which can be cultivated over the course of academic exercise with necessary guidance given.

In addition, attaching more importance to preparing them for the potential challenges that they are likely to encounter at work, ranging from vocational skills to psychological readiness, is seemingly justified in terms of increasing their competitive advantages in a labor market. Although self-discipline and self-motivation can also be fostered via tailored teaching methods, which are reading comprehension and written and spoken expressions, for instance, are the vital criteria to their academic performance and lay a solid foundation for their learning efficiency in later stage.

All in all, a person’s future career success to a certain extent, is still influenced by his or her academic performance at school, I personally believe that schools should not underrate the significance of it.