13. In the mordern world, people are no longer necessary to use food from animals or products from animals such as medicine and clothing. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

In modern society, people have a tendency to change their habits in life. Typically, we have seen the transformation from using animal-based products to plant-based ones, which makes some people consider the importance of the role of animals in some fields, such as food production, medical research, or the garment industry. From my perspective, alternative animal products should be encouraged to develop, but in some cases, the use of animals is unavoidable.

On the one hand, we have found a lot of ways to use animal-based commodities strictly. In the food industry, various meat companies promote the productions and development of alternative meat products without deficient in vitamins and micronutrients, which are the essential elements for physical health. For example, the Impossible food companies in the USA have gained enormous success in developing a plant-based burger, which contains no animal products in it. This invention helps to reduce excessive consumption of meat in American, as a result, prevents various potential health issues, such as heart disease, diabetes. Moreover, we see the breakthrough step in the garment industry. Because of technological advancement, we do not need to sacrifice animal life for clothing. Synthetic fur and synthetic silk are the preferable options for those who have a passion for expensive fur products.

On the other hand, animals play an essential role in vivisections, especially in vaccine development and biology. Animal experimentation and research have produced numerous medical and scientific breakthroughs that could not have been made in any other way. Without the support of animals, vaccine production could complete and widely used by humans. Thanks to the contribution of mice and primates, the world has seen success in developing gene therapy for cystic fibrosis.

In conclusion, we could not turn the role of the animal in our life down completely. We must cooperate with a suitable method to limit unnecessary animal-based yields and apply animals widely in required fields.