3. In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

It is true that people in some industralised countries can live longer than ever before. There are several potential negative consequences of this trend, but steps can definitely be taken to tackle the problems.

As the population of developed countries grow older, individuals are the one who will be influenced most. Due to the longer life, people will have diseases when they get older and this may stop the elderly from working. Without healthy physic conditions and enough incomes, it is impossible for senior citizens to live independently. At the same time, society also witnesses an increasing burden of supporting seniors. For example, people who are over 65 years old have rising demands in various areas such as medical treatment and free transportation.

All the problems described above can certainly be solved. Firstly, I believe that people should be encouraged to foster a habit of saving money for future use. Beside of the superannuation required by the law, everyone can have extra savings, as money in the bank or as properties like houses. Secondly, the government can relocate budges from other areas and spend more money on healthcare, age care and public transportation, so that makes the elderly’s life more comfortable. Finally, people should pay more attention to having a healthy lifestyle rather than a sedentary life without adequate exercise.

In conclusion, all countries in the world will continue or is going to face the problems of ageing society unless the government and every member of the society work together to fight against them.