Accidents are common on roads. What are the causes of this problem? Can you speculate the effects of this phenomenon? How could the frequency of accidents be reduced?

Nowadays, road accidents are undoubtedly becoming more prevalent in most countries. In my view, this phenomenon has resulted from two main reasons and it has brought about several thorny issues, which could be addressed by a number of appropriate remedies.

It is suggested that the culprits of this alarming threat stem from the carelessness of humans and other neutral factors such as weather conditions or the infrastructure facilities. Today, people would rather use personal vehicles than public transports, but many of them are incautious and reckless drivers. The fact that people changing lanes too quickly, speeding well over the limit, running a red light or consuming alcohol is among the most common causes of fatal injuries, thereby the higher number of accidents. Moreover, the problem is complicated by such inclement weather as heavy rain. Obviously, when the road becomes overly wet and slippery, it makes driving conditions treacherous. Therefore, vehicles can lose their grip and slide across the road surface, reducing control for drivers and increasing the risk of an accident occurring.

Traffic accidents can cause physical, financial and mental effects for everyone involved. Drivers and passengers can suffer from minor cuts and bruises to broken limbs, back and spinal injuries and even death. Vehicles in traffic accidents are damaged and may be in need of minor or costly repairs or maybe no longer drivable. Additional effects of traffic accidents can include emotional and mental distress as people can suffer from post-traumatic stress from being involved in the accident or from losing a loved one due to a traffic accident.

There are several measures that governments could perform to mitigate the foregoing issues. Firstly, the action that should be taken by the government to reduce road accidents is to improve the maintenance and enhancement of road systems. A second measure should be to increase citizen awareness about the adverse consequences of traffic accidents through mass media. Finally, it’s important that traffic participants adhere strictly to traffic laws and be aware of the speed at which they’re travelling and stay within the posted speed limits.

To sum up, road accidents occur for a combination of reasons, from unexpected weather to unsafe road design, or other drivers lack caution. Negative consequences have ensued, be that as it may, there appear to be several prescriptions to solve the problems.