Adults do less exercise nowadays. Some think that people can be encouraged to live healthy lives through sporting events such as the Olympics or the World Cup. Others think that there are better ways to encourage adults for exercise. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

To paraphrase a popular saying: a healthy spirit requires a healthy body. As such, a healthy lifestyle encompasses nutritious food, a balanced work ethic together with regular excercise. Opinions, however, vary in regards to what motivates people to engage in regular excercise. Popular large-scale recurring sport events that are broadcast on tv and other media are said to be a driver for people to engage in sports. On the other hand, many say there ought to be superior motives that encourages people to excercise apart from these relative rare sport events.

While it is true that big sport events like the Olympics, the World Cup or especially tennis tournaments like Wimbledon, spark interest in actively picking up these sports, it is often a short-lived experience and the enthusiasm fades rather quickly. I remember when tennis giants Boris Becker and Steffi Graf won the Wimbledon Tennis Championships, it created a massive interest in the tennis sport, which was hitherto considered somewhat elitist and aloof. However Becker and Graf brought this sport to the masses, who picked up a racket for the first time in their lives. Nonetheless, the interest in the sport diminished as soon as the tournament was over and only a small percentage continued to practice the sport regularly.

Indeed, to encourage adults to keep practicing a sport seems to require additional stimuli apart from televised popular sporting events. Advertisements from government agencies promoting sports as engaging in social events and practicing a healthy lifestyle, is an effective way of keeping people engaged and attracting more people to pick up some kind of work out. Furthermore, having a vigorous sport curriculum in schools is likely to produce a populace more mindful and committed to regularly engage in sports.

In conclusion, I concur that encouragement to engage in excercise should not depend on the popularity of big sport events only, but requires a steady stream of advertisement promoting the various benefits that comes with being an active member in a sports club or your local gym.