People’s lives are now surrounded by advertisement. This affects what people consider important and has a negative impact on people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It seems that nowadays we are confronted with an inescapable exposure to advertisements. On any media device, be it radio, television, smartphone, internet video platforms and websites or just plain old billboards, advertisements are everywhere. Surely, companies would not spend such considerable amount of money and effort to advertise their products, without having some return in their investment?

Needless to say, many people consider the sheer amount of advertising that is thrown at us quite unhealthy. Nonetheless, it is in everybody’s power, and self-interest, to take the necessary steps to avoid this over-exposure to ads. Hence, I do not necessarily agree that advertisement, no matter the amount in the media, impacts negatively on our lives.

Advertising has not been exclusively in the realm of product recommendation for a long time, if it had ever been there in the first place. Quite on the contrary, advertising has always been to a certain extent some fantasy that tried to manipulate possible consumers on an emotional level. As a male, I am targeted by product recommendations such as cars or shaving products, which are nearly always accompanied by beautiful women, who are not in any relation to the product itself. The message is clear, with this car, and this shaving utensil, you will automatically attract gorgeous women. I would agree that these kinds of messages are ill-informed and moreover present an overly chauvinistic world view that is inappropriate and could have certain repercussions on impressionable adolescents.

Nonetheless, as foreshadowed earlier, I believe that we as consumers have the power to deal with this unhealthy volume of product ads. This power consist of one simple rule: turn off the advertisement. Perhaps this rule could be criticised as ‘easier said than done’, but I would answer that in my household we do not have any television. The only radio we have is in our car; furthermore, we have not purchased print media for ages. We do have, however, smart phones and computers, both with internet connection. Here the solution comes in the form of ad-blockers or ad-filters, which are powerful techniques to block out most digital advertisement on internet platforms. As a result, I haven’t been confronted with a barrage of advertising in a long time, as would be the standard on television.

In conclusion I believe that consumers have the power to avoid being confronted and impacted by unhealthy amounts of advertising. When using technological solutions such as ad-blockers in conjunction with watching less tv, the amount of advertisement is barely noticeable and it is has the positive side effect to have more time for family life.