Advantages and disadvantages of studying abroad

Nowadays, studying in a foreign country has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although this trend is not without disadvantages, the advantages will be far more significant.

There are several drawbacks when acquiring an overseas education. First, since students can get cutural shock, they may feel confused. In fact, overseas students could be exposed to numerous habits, actions and living concepts that is weirder and much more diffirent than those in their hometowns, which makes them feel isolated and get into some trouble in their life, like depression, frustration or homesickness. Second, by studying abroad, learners have to pay a large amount of money. This means that every cost, from transportation, accomodation, studying to everyday living, is very expensive, especially in developed countries like the USA, UK or France, thus putting financial pressure on low-income students and encouraging them to join part-time jobs in lieu of concentrating all of their time on learning.

Nevertheless, the benefits of being educated abroad seem more attractive and should be taken into account. First, in order to have more career opportunities, having acess to foreign education is necessary. For example, people graduated from top-ranked universities, such as Havard, Yale, Oxford, are likely to be more competitive in the labour market and could apply for decent jobs more easily than the other, which grants them to have a handsome salary and higher standard of life. Second, if one studies in a foreign country, one may have the ability to broaden one’s horizon. One absoluately can explore new dishes, sites, festivals, activities or meet new people with background diffirent from one’s own, which leads one to gain a wealth knowledge of various fields, from History, Geography, Cutulre to Communicating, and more successful in the future.

In conclusion, in spite of the fact that the demerits are recognized, these pale into significance when compared to merits. By studying in a foreign country, especially developed one, people could gain in an array of benefits that are out of their expectation.