The advantages and disavantages of online learning

Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, educational institutions are looking toward online learning platforms. As with other learning methods, studying online has its pros and cons. In this essay, I will discuss the positive and negative aspects of online learning.

It is true that the emerge of online learning has brought us serial benefits. The main advantage is the easy accessibility of time and place. Online learning allows students to study from the locations of their choices without traveling to the physical classes. Besides, the lectures are recorded and shared for future reference. Therefore, students can access these materials at a time of their comfort. Another benefit is that studying online can save us cost and time. Since all of the students stay at home for virtual education, families do not pay for the transportation and meals at school. Furthermore, study materials are available online, so there is no need for students to spend money on photocopies.

Despite the benefits, the drawbacks of this type of learning do exist. The key challenge of online studying is Internet connectivity. Even though the internet penetration has grown leaps and bounds in the past few decades, in some small cities and towns, it is hard to get a consistent internet connection with decent speed, which results in a lack of continuity in learning for students. This is detrimental to the education process. Another obstacle is that students have to sit and stare at the screen for long periods. This could have a severe impact on their physical bodies as they may sit in wrong postures, and also develop visual impairments in students.

In conclusion, although online learning gives us flexibility in time and place, it can cause students several health issues.