Advertisements are becoming more and more common in everyday life. Is it a positive or negative development?

It is clear that advertisements are almost integrated into people’s everyday lives thanks to technological advancement. Although it seems to be some disadvantages that advertisements provide, I contend that this is a positive development.

There are some drawbacks of adverts if they are not used for a good cause. Firstly, organizations now tend to use advertisements to promote unhealthy products that primarily target younger people. For example, many commercials of processed products promoted by fast-food companies that appear perpetually on television or social media might prompt children to pester parents to buy to please their desires since glamour adverts easily influence children. As a result, such unhealthy products will affect the well-being of children and make them more prone to obesity. Advertising also promotes unnecessary spending and create artificial wants; this might lead people to excessive consumerism that might damage their financial health.

Despite the aforementioned above, there are various conveniences that commercials can offer. Firstly, People are more likely to be informed of the up-to-date information of the new-release products through myriads means of media. People can save a great deal of time if they are too busy to shop around; they can rely on advertising to learn about new products. In addition, people can learn ways to protect the environment through advertisements. For example, Samsung corporation has recently promoted a recycling campaign through large-scale commercials to educate buyers on how to recycle cardboard boxes to save the environment. Furthermore, talented young people can now earn money by designing commercial content through either video-sharing or social media apps, namely Facebook and Youtube. Therefore, it helps to reduce the number of jobless rates amongst juveniles.

In conclusion, while the development of advertisements seems to show some negative prospects, this is indeed a positive development.