Nowadays celebrities are more famous for their glamour and wealth than for their achievements, and this sets a bad example to young people.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, it is evident for people to witness celebrities' exoticism and luxury lifestyle, which outshine their hard-won achievement. Although I agree that some celebs may set a negative example for the youth, I believe plenty of other famous people act as positive models.

On the one hand, it is apparent that many people now grow popular and become successful by displaying their lavish lifestyle rather than working hard to achieve it. In fact, these celebrities often lack the talent to make a valuable contribution to society. Take Kim Kardashian as an example; While thanks to her tendency to render glamorous lifestyles and lavish dressing styles on the internet, she managed to draw millions of followers on social media and become a billionaire despite her lack of talents in acting and singing. However, young people affected by her lavish lifestyle crave to spend more money on expensive clothes and accessories that they otherwise cannot afford. Thus, this proves to be negative to the mental wellbeing of young ones as even more dire when they cannot follow that kind of materialistic lifestyle.

On the other hand, there are many other overlooked famous individuals whose accomplishments make them excellent role models for the youth. Singers, actors, football superstars, and musicians rise to stardom thanks to their endless hard-working days and the ability to harness their talents for good causes. Such people never stop believing in the value of hard work and commitment to contribute to their homelands and people in need one day. They render great effort, determination, and ambition, which is a prerequisite for anyone who wants to become a successful and decent citizen. An example is the greatest football player Cristiano Ronaldo, who successfully worked out of poverty at 18 and became the most successful footballer, primarily thanks to his long year of practice and hard work. This self-made celebrity can motivate young ones to discover and develop their talents through application and perseverance.

In conclusion, it is a matter of personal preference to choose whatever kind of celebrities to follow. Though famous but faultily lavish people in today's world are inevitable, many decent and diligent stars are worth looking up to for young people.