Advertising is becoming more and more common in everyday life. Is it a positive or negative development?

With the development of technology, people can see advertisements not only on television but also on the streets or anywhere with a screen. In my opinion, this situation can have both merits and demerits.

On the one hand, advertisements still have some good points. Initially, they may bring inevitable profit for businesses. To explain this, companies tend to market their commodities or services by using celebrity endorsement, thanks to the reputation of these influencers, their products can reach potential customers. This also raises their brand awareness and helps with increasing sales, and therefore, it can boost the economic development of society. Secondly, regular advertising may meet the needs of buyers. Through online or offline ads, people can get more useful information to purchase products that are appropriate to their daily life. This is likely to not only help them to fulfill their demands but also improve their life quality.

On the other hand, there are numerous drawbacks to ads. First of all, misleading advertisements can be disappointing to customers. There are a huge of ads that give untrue information as companies tend to exaggerate the quality of goods to attract as many buyers as possible. Consequently, consumers will dissatisfy if they receive actual products not as advertised, which may lead to their returning those items and losing favor with the brand. Another disadvantage is wasting users' money. For instance, advertisements have a tendency to persuade people to follow the latest trends in the market so consumers will squander their money on unnecessary commodities. As a result, it wastes the amount of money that they can spend on other essential needs instead.

In conclusion, although the widespread of advertisements can benefit businesses and the demands of customers, it may still have several bad sides for individuals.