Some young people look forward to a year of traveling, a "gap year", before they begin work or university and see it as a chance to broaden their horizons. For others this is an expensive waste of time. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some students want to spend a gap year traveling and consider it as an opportunity to expand their knowledge before they start to work or go to college. However, others think this action is costly and a waste of time. Despite sympathizing with the latter opinion, I would support the first one.

There are two reasons why young people object to this idea. First of all, traveling is a pricey activity and it is not suitable for everyone. For example, many students have a difficult financial situation, they can not afford a trip even if they work part-time. Their source of income may be only enough to meet their basic needs. Secondly, when teenagers take a year to travel, they may not be able to keep up with their classmates. By the time they graduate, their peers have already worked one year, so teens can get less chance of finding a paid-well job. For these downsides, taking a gap year is opposed by a number of people.

In contrast, I suppose that travel experiences do bring benefits to young people. Having a trip is necessary for adolescents after a long time studying exhaustedly. Next, they will see a different world and gain numerous new attitudes for themselves. Moreover, if juveniles travel on their own, they can learn to solve independently every problem. For instance, they may know how to pay bills appropriately or take care of themselves when there are unexpected situations happen. Apart from that, teens will get these precious experiences for their future lives.

To sum up, although the gap year has some drawbacks such as being expensive and a waste of time. I believe that it is an excellent chance for students who want to try an independent life and broaden their horizons.