Advertising discourages people from being different individuals by making them want to be and look the same, to what extent do you agree or disagree.

In this modern era, advertisement has infiltrated every aspect of our life. People trend to consume the same products and wear the same brands of clothes. It is true that advertisement is one of the reasons that make people lead similar lifestyle, However, in this essay I would argue that there are other factors which contribute to this tend.

Owing to globalization, the products of giant multinational corporations have become ubiquitous, sold almost in every country. These large companies have the power to dominate the global market, in addition to their ability to advertise their products and services in a global level. Moreover people often opt to buy famous brands, because they think they have the best quality in the market.

Adidas, Nike, McDonalds are a few example of well known giant companies, whose products and services are consumed by scores of people around the globe.

Even without the the influence of advertisement, people tends to emulate each other, particularly teenagers, who often buy what their friend buy, and easily persuaded by admired celebrities and their advertisement.

Furthermore, clothes fashion has a tremendous impact on what people wear, clothes manufacturers often follow the latest trends and fashion, which result in most people wear similar outfits.

To sum up, although advertising has a great influence on people, it is not the only factors that caused them to lead similar lifestyle, and consume similar product, there are other factors such as globalization and the global availability of consumer goods.