All students ought to study art and music in school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a contentious issue whether students in a school should study arts and music or not. While people can have different opinions, this essay entirely agrees that pupils in schools should study these subjects as they will learn disciple and will also witness better grades in general.

Arts and music have the potential to imbibe the quality of self-discipline in a student. This is because both the subjects cannot be excelled until and unless a learner gives their hundred percent along with consistency and persistence. In this process of practising every day in order to be better at one’s craft, learners assimilate the habit of self-discipline, which would go a long way once they will join the corporate world in adulthood. For instance, Elon Musk, owner of SpaceX and Tesla, revealed the fact that his habit of working hard comes from the days when he was a drummer in school. Thus, the importance of these subjects cannot be overlooked.

In addition to this, studying arts and music can result in improved grades at school. According to neurologists, learning musical instruments or doing artwork stimulate those parts of the brain which are responsible for critical thinking, logical reasoning and memory management. Therefore, studying these courses will make students better at other subjects as well. To cite an example, Doon Valley School, a high school in Nepal, conducted a study where it found that pupils who have taken arts and music as optional subjects were better performers than those who do not. Hence, the wonders these courses can do cannot be undermined.

To conclude, students should study arts and music because instead of being an extra burden, these courses have the potential to improve their overall grades along with imbibing some valuable life skills.