All criminals should have access to education and rehabilitation programs while in prison. To what extent do you agree or disagree on this IELTS topic?

Everyone has a right to get a quality education; however, when it comes to teach and prepare criminals to be a part of society, opinions can vary. Anyway, this essay absolutely agrees to impart knowledge to criminals in prison along with assistance to restore their status as a responsible citizen in the society. In the following paragraphs, this essay will argue how these rehab programs can effectively deter crime drastically.

Firstly, punishing criminals is not the only purpose of the penal system as it also comprises the idea of being fair to even wrongdoers. Even though they are behind the bars, fundamental rights cannot be taken away from them such as access to information or good education. Since most of the criminals will get released after their sentenced period, it is crucial to work on their rehabilitation in order to give them a second chance to improve their lives. To cite an example, Tihar Jail, one of the strictest jails in India, regularly host seminars to educate its prisoners for making them realize that they can still improve their conditions. Such initiatives have the potential to take crime out of the mind of the criminals.

Secondly, providing education would deter present prisoners to commit crimes in the future. The logic is simple, most the crimes happen for making money. If prisoners are given some formal training and knowledge to be a part of a nation’s workforce, they can work in a company once released. Clearly, as they can make money by working as a law-abiding citizen, the chances of committing a crime again is on the lower side. For instance, Frank Abaignail, the famous con-artist who did frauds of millions, was given training during his jail years and now he works for FBI to catch other criminals. Thus, the effectiveness of rehabilitation programs cannot be undermined; a criminal can turn out to be a responsible citizen indeed.

To conclude, justice should deter crime and should provide a second chance to the offenders to change their circumstances. Even criminals are humans that can turn into greater possibilities with the right guidance.