In recent years, there has been growing interest in the relationship between equality and personal achievement. Some people believe that individuals can achieve more in egalitarian societies. Others believe that high levels of personal achievement are possible only if individuals are free to succeed or fail according to their individual merits. What is your view of the relationship between equality and personal success?

Equality has been and is still one of the most debated topics around the world. Nowadays, people have different beliefs. Whereas some stress upon the importance of equal rights and opportunities, others think that personal achievement solely depends upon an individual’s traits. This essay supports the former view as egalitarian society creates a conducive environment for people to achieve more.

People arguing only about personal merits have a strong argument. They argue that if a person has unique abilities and has great potential, no matter what the circumstances are they will rise above. It is easy to understand why they have faith in this assertion, according to them, unique abilities can never get unnoticed and would make anyone successful. However, I disagree with this assertion since it is not a valid argument. To cite an example of a major flaw in this notion one has to consider the example of MTV’s broadcasting policies in the early 80s. During that era, black artists’ music was never broadcasted by the channel despite having an amazing voice or talent. Therefore, just by having talent and potential one cannot achieve success in this world.

Nevertheless, other, including myself, believe that equality and success complement each other. In other words, both are directly proportional to each other. When everyone is given equal opportunities, for instance, education, jobs and training, the probability of being successful is usually on the higher side. For instance, even though I was a software developer, my employer gave me an opportunity to explore the marketing domain. Owing to which, now I am working as an Area Sales Manager along with handling some duties of the I.T department as well. Therefore, in a society that gives fair opportunities and rights to everyone chances of personal success are often on the bright side because of the positivity of such environment.

To conclude, equality is a driving factor in order to achieve success in one’s academic or professional life, and they go hand in hand. Undoubtedly, fair opportunities for all can transform people’s life.