Nowadays more and more people prefer to wear fashionable clothes. Is this a good or a bad trend?

These days people are increasingly becoming more inclined towards trending outfits in order to look stunning. Even though others might take this trend positively, this essay feels that it a highly negative development as it results in increased thefts as well as health problems.

Firstly, desire to wear the latest dresses provoke retail-thefts indirectly. This is happening because the longing to get appreciated by others overshadows moral values. Usually, trending attire costs a fortune, which would make these dresses out of reach for certain individuals. Even if a person is unable to afford these outfits, they shoplift to obtain them. The surge in the cases of shoplifting from shopping malls and retail stores, for example, is a by-product of this longing. Since the trend is giving rise to criminal activities, it is undoubtedly a bad advancement.

Secondly, fashionable clothes are pushing people toward serious ailments. The reason is simple, most of the fashion houses produce clothing based on slim-fit themes that makes the millennials conscious of their physique. In order to look graceful and attractive, they perform crash-dieting or eat in an unhealthy manner that eventually develops to illnesses such as anorexia and bulimia. In the U.S, for example, 32% of the teenagers have developed eating disorders while trying to achieve a perfect body for the latest fashion and the percentage is growing ceaselessly. Thus, one cannot justify going after fashion is a good choice.

In conclusion, if people start to develop health problems which can be life-threatening or turn into robbers just for a longing to wear the latest attire, in every way, it will bring enormous ramifications in the long run.