It was predicted that people in the 21st century would have much more free time than in the past. To what extent has this prediction come true ?

As mankind always strive to bring convenience via its technological innovations, some intellectuals in the twentieth century anticipated that in the upcoming century people would be able to have more downtime as compared to the past. Fortunately, this prediction has become true completely. This essay will discuss how technology has enabled mankind to enjoy extended leisure time compared to the previous centuries.

Technological breakthroughs have radically transformed the way people work nowadays. Whereas in the past one has to be present at their workplace in order to carry out their duties, the millennials, with the help of the internet, can work while sitting in their home. This remote working capability has brought the ability to work from home which was unimaginable in the past. Owing to this phenomenon, people can skip long commuting times and have more time to spend with their families or pursuing their hobbies. Professionals in the I.T sector, for instance, work from home most of the time that not only improve their productivity but also improves their personal relationships. Therefore, it just to say that the 21st century is the era where professionals have more leisure time than in the previous centuries.

In addition to this, most of the laborious tasks are now being carried out by machines which directly implies more free time for housewives or homemakers. While in the past physically demanding chores such as laundry, cleaning and dishwashing were meant to be done by humans, in this era machines look after such menial chores that bring more downtime for individuals for either personal or professional development. Housewives, for instance, who had been working around the clock to finish household chores in the past, now can start the dishwasher, washing machine and sit comfortably on an armchair reading their favourite books. Apparently, this has an astounding achievement if one looks at how life has been in the early 1900s.

To conclude, the 21st century is the era of technical expertise which renders an ample amount of time for people to enjoy their personal or professional pursuits that would have been just an imagination for the previous centuries.