Junk food advertising has a harmful effect on society and should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a contentious issue whether the marketing of comfort foods has a dire effect on people and ought to be prohibited. As such adverts encourage people to eat less nutritious diet along with stimulating to eat out more often, this essay completely agrees to ban these advertisements.

Junk food advertisements persuade people to eat more which may lead to developing life-threatening diseases. Apparently, fast food advertisements are shot using high-definition cameras with mouth-watering cinematography of the ingredients present in it. Viewing these commercials repeatedly induce cravings to eat them. Obviously, by watching these adverts people consume more comfort foods which eventually make the general public obese and predisposed to life-threatening ailments. Therefore, if these marketing campaigns are not curbed the health of the general public is at stake.

Apart from increasing health issues, junk food commercials motivate people to spend more; making them spend-thrifts. Whenever people see taglines such as “Two Can Dine For $10” or “Family Meal for $20” on the billboards, they surmise such deals are economical instead of cooking at home. Resultantly, they become more inclined to eating out instead of cooking at home. This shift of eating out often results in spending people in an irresponsible way, or in the long run, they become broke by influenced by the adverts.

In conclusion, junk food marketing not only increases the probability of hypertensive and cardiac problems but also make people spend money in an obscene way which could lead to financial predicaments. Due to such aforementioned ramifications, I strongly believe that these commercials should be banned as they have no significant benefits for their consumers.