Differences between countries become less evident each year. Nowadays, all over the world people share the same fashions, advertising, brands, eating habits and TV channels. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

All thanks to globalization, countries all around the world are becoming alike in terms of their lifestyle, cuisine and culture. As every tremendous shift has merits and demerits, this phenomenon is no exception. This essay will bring forth two advantages along with concomitant disadvantages and will argue why the pros are overshadowed by its cons.

On a positive note, similarities between nations can curtail problems such as homesickness and cultural shock. Obviously, if numerous countries follow identical dietary habits as well as dressing code, immigrants would not confront cultural shock to a great extent. As one can enjoy their native delicacies even in foreign countries, they are less likely to miss their homeland. When I went to Singapore, for instance, for work, I was not feeling homesick as Indian cuisine was freely available at most of the major restaurant chains. Additionally, having similar brands or television channels would mitigate information overload since the sources are only a few instead of a gigantic number of media houses presenting, may be biased or unbiased, information. In this way, this striking alikeness can certainly have some serious benefits.

On the contrary, the individuality of nations and the creativity of people might suffer substantially. The reason is simple, if the majority of countries have similar fashion, food and belief system, there would be no uniqueness in the world. Being a traveller myself, it is hard to imagine Japan without their flashy traditional dresses or different delicacies served in Indian cuisine. There would be no excitement left in visiting nations which is a demerit that cannot be undermined. Also, sharing identical storylines in television serials or the same marketing strategies will surely have a devastating impact on the intelligent quotient of people because there will be no one to walk over the unconventional terrain. Netflix, for example, how monotonous it will be if this platform only had a limited set of screenplays, clearly, it's the diversity that brings excitement and creativity in work.

To conclude, although globalisation can solve issues such as homesickness and cultural disparity considerably, if it is happening at the cost of the individuality of countries and lack of creativity, without a doubt, this price cannot be justified in any way.