It is better to be a member of a group than to be a leader of a group. Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Being a captain is invariably more stressful than to be a crew member of a ship due to the increased accountability and performance pressure. Therefore, this essay agrees that a non-leadership position is far better than a leadership role.

In terms of job responsibilities, an individual member is less stressed about their performance compared to a leader of a group. Apparently, whereas the leader has to handle multiple departments ranging from managing people to rules and regulations, a member, on the other hand, just has to follow the procedures dictated by the upper management. Since the leader has to tackle numerous issues, the concomitant is usually on the higher side than any other group member. For instance, in a cricket team, the team captain’s responsibilities involve choosing the right players for a game, creating a game strategy, so the concomitant stress associated with captaincy is extremely high. Due to less pressure, it is a better idea to a crewmember instead of controlling a ship’s wheel.

In addition to this, leaders have a high risk of being in the limelight in case of failure. As a leader is seen as a mission director, when significant milestones remain unfulfilled, the leader is held responsible even if that is a result of an inefficient team effort. The launch of Rohini satellite is a classic example of such a scenario. During the satellite launch, a malfunction went unnoticed by a scientist that resulted in the failure of this launch; however, Dr Sarabhai, the mission director, was defamed by the media even though it was not his fault. So, if one wants to remain on a safe side, it is better to be a follower than a leader.

To conclude, owing to less stressful responsibilities as well as the advantage of not attracting everyone’s attention when it comes to position, a non-leader is better than a leader.